Gihon Foundation Council on IdeasWorks by WomenBette GrahamHome

Council on Ideas

Jane Alexander
Ana Maria Cetto
Stephen Jay Gould
Robert D. Kaplan
Jessica Tuchman Mathews


Jane Alexander

Most recently the sixth chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), Alexander completed a total reorganization of NEA to emphasize partnerships and cross-disciplinary initiatives. Prior to becoming chairman in 1993, Alexander pursued a successful career in the arts as a producer, author and award-winning actress including six Tony nominations and a Tony Award for The Great White Hope; five Emmy nominations and an Emmy Award for Playing for Time; and four Academy Award nominations. She is the recipient of numerous honors including the 1995 Montblanc Award de Culture North American Award, the Commonwealth Award and the Living Legacy: Jehan Sadat Peace Award in 1988; and is a Board member of the McDowell Colony, the Hornecker Wildlife Institute, and the American Bird Conservancy.

  ©2002 Gihon Foundation • 1793 Catalina Street, Sand City, CA 93955 • (831) 277-9165 •